TECHNIQUE

The canvas is an instrument.

 

 

Microphones and sensors are placed behind the canvas. This is the board. The artist creates a work. In doing so, the microphones capture the passage of the brush on the canvas and the vibrations depending on the intensity of the creative impulse. The first sounds generated are taken by the musician then modulated and organized to transform the sequences and form a soundtrack which will serve to create a piece of music. In reciprocity, musical composition will directly influence the pictorial composition. A creative Larsen effect (feedback) is then created. We do not know who influences who. Both works are built over each other to form a unique performance.

It attempts to create a perfect harmony between the arts and the artists. One is not only a musician, since it influences directly the painter's gesture. The other is not only a painter, since it generates sounds and sequences.

Visual design

Basically, the visual designer’s approach is the same as that of the sound designer.

This first captures the entire canvas optically and can thus isolate stains and paint forms as desired. Like the sound designer who modifies the sounds of friction and blow on the canvas into harmonic sounds, the visual designer transforms the color spots into as many two-dimensional or three-dimensional shapes as he projects in the space, either on a flat screen, or on structural forms (mapping), or in an immersive dome.



EA is constantly evolving.
See the current projects on LAB .

Back

Performances in the SAT Satosphere for the iX symposium

© 2017 ÉLECTRO-ACRYLIQUE

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • SoundCloud - White Circle

© 2017 ÉLECTRO-ACRYLIQUE

À l’endos de la toile se trouvent des capteurs, des micros. Le peintre crée une œuvre. Se faisant, les micros captent le passage du pinceau sur la toile et les vibrations du canevas selon l'intensité de la pulsion créative. Les premiers sons ainsi générés sont récupérés par le musicien qui les module, les transforme et les organise en séquences afin de former une trame sonore de fond qui lui servira à son tour de canevas virtuel pour créer une oeuvre musicale. En réciprocité, la composition musicale va directement influencer la composition picturale. Il se créer alors une sorte d'effet rétroactif de Larsen (feedback). On ne sait plus qui influence qui. Les deux oeuvres se bâtissent par rapport à l'autre pour n'en former qu'une le temps de la performance.

On tente ainsi de créer une osmose parfaite entre les deux arts et les deux artistes. L’un n’est plus seulement musicien, puisqu’il influence directement le geste du peintre. L’autre n’est plus seulement peintre, puisqu’il génère des sons et des séquences.

Designer visuel

Fondamentalement, la démarche du designer visuel est la même que celle du designer sonore.
Ce premier capte l’ensemble de la toile optiquement et peut ainsi isoler les taches et formes de peinture à sa guise. À l’instar du designer sonore qui modifie les sons de frottements et de coup sur la toile en des sons harmonique, le designer visuel transforme les taches de couleur en autant de formes bi-dimensionnelles ou tri-dimensionnelles qu’il projette dans l’espace, soit sur un écran plat, soit sur des formes structurelles (mapping), soit dans un dôme immersif.

Retour